Ashes of Dreams

13 Aug, 2023

UPDATE: Yeah I was sleepy as fuck when I wrote this. They're pretty similar but obviously not the same LMAO


Today, I was watching an ancient Sims 3 video by Vargskelethor Joel from early 2013. At the climax of the video, Joel's sim dies; A mock eulogy is held for him, during which a familiar song plays - what seems like an 8-bit cover of Nier Replicant's main theme, Ashes of Dreams. I thought that was pretty cool, since the video was from when Nier was still pretty obscure. But I'd never heard Joel speak of DrakenNier in my life, and certainly never heard him play this soundbite during any jokes.

I had to look deeper, so naturally I combed through the comments to find the DrakenNier fans. Unsurprisingly, there weren't any, especially not in this ancient video. But after getting hit with "it's Darude - Sandstorm" about a dozen times, I did manage to find out exactly what version of Ashes this was..... Except it wasn't Ashes at all.

Yes, that's right, Ashes is a fucking adaptation of Game Over from
Final Fantasy I. And you know what... I don't think there's a more fitting theme than "Game Over" for a post-apocalyptic game where you fuck everything up.

Check this shit out.